April 2

by thecalvincoolidge

Three things I’m happy about today, this April 2nd:

  • Stumbling upon Shawn Anchor, a happenstance happy. He arrived on a Wednesday, a few Wednesdays ago, placed chronologically between a tricky case and Hubbard Street 2. Shawn and the first 20-so pages of “The Happiness Advantage” are the impetus for this blog, these lists, and this conviction: happiness matters. Trying my darnedest at being a better human being matters. Thank you, Shawn, on this Wednesday and many more to come!
  •  Crew. Today, while not my best effort, ended well. Nothing broke. Nobody cried. And I have tomorrow, to build a better relationship. I am grateful for the great group of girls I have. Certainly not the fastest, but certainly an ambitious, well-meaning and warm group of gals destined for fond memories and collective success.
  • My future. Sitting at the precipice of so much more, I feel awed and stunned and humbled and sometimes bewildered at all that lays ahead. There’s a lot of life in me to live, yet. I’m so very lucky to have all these amazing choices (college and otherwise) and these opportunities (travel, Gap Year, but also a more abstract but essential happiness: freedom, food, hope, community and love). And I’m unbelievably excited at the prospect of living these moments in a more authentic, effective and affecting way!
  • (Bonus #4: FREE PERIODS)

One article, prose, fiction or creative work I have consumed today:

